We respectfully acknowledge that our work takes place on unceded Musqueam, Squamish, Sto:lo and Tsleil-Waututh Indigenous lands.

And with deep thanks to our community members who shared their stories.

Report produced by No One Is Illegal-Vancouver Unceded Coast Salish Territories.

Creative Commons LicenseVideos produced by No One Is Illegal-Vancouver Unceded Coast Salish Territories in partnership with

Never Home: Legislating Discrimination in Canadian Immigration by No One Is Illegal-Vancouver Unceded Coast Salish Territories is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International LicenseAugust 2015.

Never Home is a groundbreaking multimedia project documenting nine years of discriminatory immigration changes by the Canadian government.


Authors: Harsha Walia and Omar Chu

Research: Omar Chu, Syed Hussan, Konstantin Kilibarda, Cecily Nicholson, Kas Pavanantharajah, Brian Peaslee, Wrenna Robertson, Zian Sally, Harsha Walia

Edits: Irina Ceric, Omar Chu, Dru Oja Jay, Syed Hussan, AJ Klein, Andrew Loewen, Anna McClean, Dawn Paley, Josh Patterson, Brian Peaslee, Sara Sagaii, Sozan Savehilaghi, Wendy Naava Smolash, Madison Trusolino, Harsha Walia & additional lawyers

Layout: Stephanie Law

Website: Sozan Savehilaghi

Graphics: Tings Chak, Harjap Grewal, Krisztina Kun, Sozan Savehilaghi, Magin Payet Scudellari

Translations: A.A, Ali Abukar, Yasi Bayani, Sadhu Binning, Patrick Cadorette, King-mong Chan, Omar Chu, May Farrales, Billy Joe Laboucan, Melina Laboucan-Massimo, Peggy Lam, Kathryn Gwun-Yeen Lennon, Wilson Liang, Alejandra Lopez-Bravo, Sharmarke Mohamed, Tahmineh Sadeghi, Jorge Salazar, Szu Shen, Audrey Siegl, Harsha Walia, Weiye Wang, Ikumi Yoshida

Video Production: Omar Chu, Daniel Code, Sean Devlin, Teresa Diewert, Jeff Lee Petry, Daniel Tseghay, Harsha Walia, Nicky Young

Video Editing: Nicky Young

Video Narration: AJ Klein, Ayendri Perera, Mina Ramos, Wendy Naava Smolash, Nicky Young

Music: Stefan Christoff, LAL, Erica Mah

Video Captions: Omar Chu, romham pádraig gallacher of Radical Access Mapping Project, Nicky Young

Additional thanks: Sarah Beuhler, Kamran Khan, Rodrigo Samayoa, Reilly Yeo